Ghost Ghost

My Button Collection

More About Moi

My name is Emma.

I’m 26 years old.

I was born and raised in Cincinnati, Ohio.

I became Deaf at age 18, and wouldn’t change that or myself for the world.  I don’t let it stop me from doing anything.

I have a BA in Special Education with a Specialization in Sign Language Interpreting from the University of Cincinnati. 

I want to go to graduate school in Australia. I was there for three weeks in 2010 and fell in love! <3 

TOTAL. BOOKWORM.

I love comic books. I have over 300 volumes of Japanese manga, but grew up reading American comics. I love X-Men and Batman (Dick Grayson = <3 )

I was raised in a strict Catholic household, but during high school and college, I really broadened my horizons, struck out on my own, and came up with my own set of beliefs. I think I have the right to be proud of myself for doing so. And I am. 

I’ve had the opportunity and privilege to meet some truly amazing people. They aren’t famous or rich- they are the little people who make the world a better place. Their the unsung heroes of my life. I would be utterly lost without them, and I call them ‘friends’.

Growing up in and out of the hospital means growing up fast. People hear about my experiences and say, “Awww. Poor you!” To which I reply, “You’ve got it all wrong. I learned early to love deeply, laugh often, and take nothing for granted. Yes, I’ve had hardships, but I’ve become better for them…. though I reserve the right to bitch and moan sometimes.”

I’m a STRONG supporter of the Deaf Community, and advocacy for all people with disabilities. I try to stay active in the community as much as possible.

Wanna know more? Clickity-Clack that ‘Ask Me!” button, and I’ll respond. 

lml/

Button Theme